Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman

Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman

In this article you will know that Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman. In the realm of Hindu mythology, Panchmukhi Hanuman stands as a unique and revered deity, celebrated for his five distinct faces that embody different aspects of divinity. This manifestation of Lord Hanuman is a source of inspiration and devotion for millions of followers worldwide. Let’s delve into the intriguing world of Panchmukhi Hanuman and understand the significance of each of his faces.

who are the 5 gods in panchmukhi hanuman


Panchmukhi Hanuman, often depicted with five faces and ten arms, holds a special place in Hindu mythology. Each face represents a different deity and carries its own symbolism and significance. This divine manifestation is venerated for his protection, strength, wisdom, and unwavering devotion.

The Legend of Panchmukhi Hanuman

The origin of Panchmukhi Hanuman is traced back to the epic tale of the Ramayana. During the battle between Lord Rama’s army and the demon king Ravana’s forces, it became essential to find a way to defeat Ravana’s brother, Ahiravana. Ahiravana had the power to take Lord Rama and Lord Lakshmana to the netherworld. To rescue them, Hanuman took the form of Panchmukhi Hanuman by revealing his five faces. Each face enabled him to face in multiple directions simultaneously and save Lord Rama and Lord Lakshmana from the clutches of the netherworld.

Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman

The Narasimha Face: Protection from Evil

One of the faces of Panchmukhi Hanuman is that of Lord Narasimha, the man-lion avatar of Lord Vishnu. This face symbolizes protection from malevolent forces and grants the devotee courage to face challenges and adversities.

The Garuda Face: Overcoming Fear

The Garuda face represents the divine bird Garuda, a devoted vehicle of Lord Vishnu. This face bestows the devotee with fearlessness, enabling them to overcome fear and obstacles on their life’s journey.

The Varaha Face: Blessings of Wealth

The Varaha face, reminiscent of Lord Vishnu’s boar incarnation, signifies wealth, prosperity, and abundance. Worshipping this face is believed to attract material and spiritual blessings.

The Hayagriva Face: Wisdom and Knowledge

With the face of Hayagriva, a horse-headed deity and an avatar of Lord Vishnu, Panchmukhi Hanuman imparts wisdom, knowledge, and the ability to overcome ignorance.

The Hanuman Face: Unwavering Devotion

The central face of Hanuman himself epitomizes devotion, loyalty, and selfless service. This face inspires devotees to serve others and remain steadfast in their devotion to the divine.

Worship and Devotion

Devotees of Panchmukhi Hanuman engage in various forms of worship, including recitation of sacred texts, mantras, and hymns dedicated to each of the five faces. Rituals and ceremonies are conducted to seek blessings and protection in different aspects of life.

Stories and Miracles

Numerous stories and miracles surround Panchmukhi Hanuman, showcasing his divine prowess and compassion. From shielding devotees from danger to aiding in their pursuits, these tales highlight the powerful presence of this deity.

Influence in Popular Culture

The influence of Panchmukhi Hanuman extends beyond religious realms. His character has found a place in literature, art, theater, and even modern media. The attributes of the five faces continue to inspire individuals to overcome challenges and grow spiritually.


After reading this article you know that Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman. Panchmukhi Hanuman, with his five divine faces, symbolizes the multifaceted nature of divinity and the varied aspects of human life. Each face represents virtues and qualities that guide and support devotees on their spiritual journey. As we delve into the depths of these faces, we uncover a treasure trove of wisdom, protection, and devotion.


  • Q: How can one worship Panchmukhi Hanuman?
    • A: Worship can be done through recitation of mantras, performing rituals, and maintaining unwavering devotion to the deity.
  • Q: What does the Garuda face symbolize?
    • A: The Garuda face signifies fearlessness and the ability to overcome obstacles.
  • Q: Can one worship a specific face of Panchmukhi Hanuman?
    • A: Yes, devotees can focus their worship on a particular face based on their needs and aspirations.
  • Q: Are there any specific festivals dedicated to Panchmukhi Hanuman?
    • A: While there might not be specific festivals, Hanuman Jayanti is a widely celebrated occasion to venerate Lord Hanuman.
  • Q: How does Panchmukhi Hanuman inspire individuals in modern times?
    • A: Panchmukhi Hanuman’s attributes inspire individuals to cultivate courage, wisdom, devotion, and fearlessness in their daily lives.
  • Q: Who are the 5 gods in Panchmukhi Hanuman?

Narasimha, Garuda, Varaha, Hayagriva, Hanuman

You can Also Read – What is the Story Behind Panchmukhi Hanuman



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *